Old Actonians v Bessborough Cricket Club 3rd Eleven on Sat 26 May 2012 at 1pm
Bessborough Cricket Club Won by 139 runs (10pts)

Match report The third eleven picked up their first win of the season on Saturday with a big 139 run win away at Old Actonians in their 1987 League Division 1 clash. Bessborough’s captain Bandara won the toss and elected to bat on a roasting afternoon with the heat and humidity influencing his decision rather than the cracked and crumbly wicket.

James Wheeler, playing his first game the season only 9 weeks after breaking his arm, opened the batting with Gajan Gandhi who had batted at 10 the previous weekend. Early signs of an opening partnership looked good with the pair both finding early boundaries before the Gajan Gandhi show took over. From the third over Gandhi targeted both opening Actonians opening bowlers with Smith and Gurkin getting smashed to all parts.

Wheeler continued to play his natural game, putting the bad ball away and working the ball into the gaps and giving Gandhi the strike. The pair had put on 70 after 10 overs and by the time Gandhi was out in the 19th over, the pair had put on 125.

The talented Saahal Vora joined Wheeler at the crease and the pair started a new partnership with Wheeler now taking over the scoring as the senior partner. He reached his 50 with two consecutive sweep shots before eventually being caught at backward point for 61.

With plenty of runs on the board, Captain Bandara and Cricket Chairman Raj Kanagaraj instructions were to continue with the fast scoring rate. Wickets tumbled with us eventually being bowled out for 237 in 44.5 overs. Only the top 3 batsman managed to get double figures (Wheeler 61, Gandhi 71, Vora 33). For Actonians, wicket-keeper turned off spin bowler Purnik picked up 5 wickets and seam bowler Steve Smith picked up 4 wickets.

With coach and captain happy with the target that we had set, the third eleven raced onto the field intent on getting some early wickets. Captain Bandara opened up with a spell of high class swing bowling without getting the luck of a wicket. Fellow opening bowler Vasanth Berty only lasted 1 over before being replaced by Saahal Vora who’s left arm seam bowling posed a few early problems for the Actonians batsman. Opener Purnik retired hurt with cramp and this opened an end for our bowlers with Vora picking up 2 wickets in an over with the second wicket being down to an excellent catch by Nathan Theebaraj at mid off.

Bandara soon switched ends and brought Theebaraj’s medium pace on at his end and the pair created some excellent pressure with good disciplined lines and lengths. The chances were coming but unfortunately they were not going to hand.

One excellent over from Bandara changed the game with him picking up 3 wickets in 5 balls to reduce Actonians from 50-2 to 50-5. He was now racing in like an express train and was on a second hat-trick after an excellent catch from wicket-keeper Dinesh.

The only real resistance came from Actonians captain Mabern, who was the last batsman dimissed. He edged a good length ball from Bandara to Wheeler at slip who took an excellent catch. Bandara finished with 8-19 off 12 overs.

It was a brilliant team performance after an indifferent start the following week and a result that we can hopefully build on.

Bessborough Cricket Club 3rd Eleven Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
4nb 14w 2b 3lb 
for 10 wickets

(44.5 overs)
James Wheeler ct A. Malik b Puranik 61 1
Gajan Gandhi b Hussain 71
Saahil Vora b Smith 33
Cecil Dinesh st Spinks b Puranik 0 1
Saagar Vora b Purnik 9
Vasanth Berty b Smith 8
Daminda Kolugala b Purnik 4
Dillon Maloney ct Harrington b Puranik 4
Sanjith Rajathevan Not Out  8
Julio Maloney st Spinks b Smith 4
Nathan Theebaraj b Smith 9 1

Old Actonians Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Steve Smith13.5281420.255.86
Matthew Gurkin5.013500.007.00
Luke Harrington5.002900.005.80
Asad Ali Hussain8.0154154.006.75
Lawrence Rivers4.002100.005.25
Hrishikesh Puranik9.032454.802.67

Old Actonians Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
98 (29.0 overs)
Hrishikesh Puranik b Bandara 11
Andrew Spinks lbw Bandara 9
Joe Kelly b Vora 2
Khalid Malik ct Theebaraj b Vora 7
Andrew Maben ct Wheeler b Bandara 34
Aneeq Malik b Bandara 0
Matthew Gurkin b Bandara 7
Lawrence Rivers ct Dinesh b Bandara 0
Asad Ali Hussain b Bandara 3
Luke Harrington b Bandara 0
Steve Smith Not Out  0

Bessborough Cricket Club 3rd Eleven Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Daminda Kolugala12.031982.381.58
Vasanth Berty1.001200.0012.00
Saahil Vora6.0025212.504.17
Nathan Theebaraj6.001100.001.83
Dillon Maloney2.00700.003.50
Sanjith Rajathevan2.001600.008.00