Bessborough Cricket Club 4th Eleven v Crouch End on Sat 28 Jul 2012 at 1pm
Bessborough Cricket Club Won by 5 wickets (10pts)

Match report Bessborough 4s got back to winning ways on Saturday with a comfortable 5-wicket win against Crouch End, writes Ravi Vyas.

The day’s conditions were just right for cricket as the temperature was warm with a bit of breeze. Bessborough Captain Simon Heaney won the toss and elected to give his confident young bowling side the chance to shine.

Bessborough took to the field and started with an opening seam attack of Oscar Farr and Praekash Belendra. It was club newcomer Praekash that struck the first blow to Crouch End with the wicket of Sam Steedman Thake for a duck thanks to an impressive catch at cover by Sammy Hawes.

At the other end, young colt Farr was bowling with venom and he came up with two wickets in his first three overs. Prakash then picked up another wicket by clean bowling Jeremy Bevan for 4.

When Sahil Hathi pulled off a stunning one-handed catch at second slip to give Farr his third wicket it looked like an early finish was on the cards as Crouch End had lost their top five with the runs total still in single figures.

However, Crouch End’s Dominic Seeber (39 not out) and Ian Hayes (30) managed to slowly rebuild their team’s innings with a vital middle-order partnership.

Bessborough’s bowling during this period was economical, but lacked the wicket taking threat of the opening bowlers Farr and Balendra, who were taking a well-deserved rest.

New Bessborough player Shyam Lakhani was given two overs and did well, ending up with 0-15 from 2 overs. Ravi Vyas produced steady figures of 0-12 from 4 overs, bowling a mixture of spin and seam, while regular spinners Dillion Popat (0-15 from 5 overs) and Richard Wilson (0-16 from 5 overs) all helped to keep the run rate down.

After drinks, Praekash and Oscar came back on to devastating effect, breaking-up the dangerous partnership between Seeber and Hayes and then clearing up the tail relatively easily to end Crouch End’s innings on 111.

Praekash finished his 10 overs with excellent final figures of 4-22, although Oscar managed to trump that with his first five-wicket haul of the season, ending up with 5-17 from 8.3 overs.

Play resumed after tea with club groundsman Lawrence Horsley, making his first league start of the year, and 14-year-old colt Dominic Baxter, opening up for Bessborough

Dominic was unlucky when he was bowled out in the early overs for 1, but Lawrence stuck in and made a solid partnership with new batsmen Sammy Hawes to settle any nerves.

The pair got Bessborough to within sight of the winning line as runs were coming freely from both bat and extras. There was a slight wobble when top-scorer Hawes was caught and bowled by Smith for 20 and the same bowler then had Horsley caught in the gulley for a patient 13.

Richard Wilson (11) and Heaney (17) smashed a few boundaries to get the side within a few runs of victory, but both gave away their wickets at the very end to leave the honour of hitting the winning runs to Praekash, which he did in fine style with a superb on-side drive that raced away for four.

Crouch End Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
2nb 17w 1b 4lb 
for 9 wickets
111 (34.3 overs)
Peter Jenkins lbw  Farr 1
Sam Steedman Thake ct  Hawes b Balendra 0
Jeremy Bevan b  Balendra 4
Andrew Smith b  Farr 0
Nabil Ahmed ct  Hathi b Farr 0
Dominic Seeber Not Out  39
Ian Hayes b  Balendra 30
Antonio Itamar ct  & b Balendra 0
Kiran Wanniarachchi b  Farr 9
Courtney Broni ct  Hawes b Farr 4
A.N. Other  

Bessborough Cricket Club 4th Eleven Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Oscar Farr8.331753.402.00
Praekash Balendra10.022245.502.20
Ravi Vyas4.011200.003.00
Shyam Lakhani2.001500.007.50
Dillon Popat5.001600.003.20
Richard Willson5.011700.003.40

Bessborough Cricket Club 4th Eleven Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
9nb 15w 6b 1lb 
for 5 wickets

(24.0 overs)
Lawrence Horsley ct  Unknown b Smith 13
Dominic Baxter b  Wanniarachchi 1
Sammy Hawes ct  & b Smith 20 2
Richard Willson b  Wanniarachchi 11
Simon Heaney ct  Unknown b Seeber 17
Sahil Hathi Not Out  6 1
Praekash Balendra Not Out  4
Shyam Lakhani  
Dillon Popat  
Oscar Farr  
Ravi Vyas  

Crouch End Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Kiran Wanniarachchi6.001829.003.00
Ian Hayes5.002100.004.20
Andrew Smith5.0015115.003.00
Jeremy Bevan4.003100.007.75
Peter Jenkins3.001600.005.33
Dominic Seeber0.00000.000.00