Bessborough Cricket Club 2nd Eleven v South Hampstead on Sat 28 Jul 2012 at 1pm
Bessborough Cricket Club Won by 55 runs (10pts)

Match report An Alex Irani unbeaten century inspired Bessborough 2nd XI as they claimed another 10 points continuing their promotion charge.

On the back of two successive victories the Borough were stuck into a bat on what looked a good batting track. However, the next 17 overs of cricket transpired to be a nightmare for captain Phil Bush as his dismissal started a procession as his side slipped to 55-6.

Irani set about repairing the damage as he and Nandesh Patel steadily re-built the Bessborough innings. Cleverly manipulating the ball into open spaces the pair frustrated the South Hampstead bowling attack.

Having put on a century stand Patel was to fall four shy of a well-earned fifty but that was the catalyst for Irani to go through the gears. Having been conservative at first Irani motored to his hundred, his final 50 coming in the final ten overs of the innings. Irani’s sustained assault gave the Borough a commanding 245-7 after 55 overs.

The Borough opening bowlers rammed their advantage home as the visitors were three down quickly. Varun Agnish and James Fletcher rebuilt the visitors innings and threatened to spoil the party but Irani proved vital again as he snaffled a sharp chance to dismiss Agnish.

Fletcher continued to attack and passed fifty but Desai (6-78) dismissed him and ripped through the tail and the final wicket fell with just nine balls remaining to give the Borough a dramatic victory. Irani’s superb back to the wall effort laid the foundations for the Borough to close on the promotion places as the season comes to its business end.

Bessborough Cricket Club 2nd Eleven Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
7nb 1w 5b 5lb 
for 7 wickets

(55.0 overs)
Philip Bush ct & b Majid Akram 4 2
Adil Parker ct Unknown b Bilal Akram 12 1
Richard Edmands ct Unknown b Bilal Akram 0
Satjeet Dhanjal Run out  27
Ian Ridley b Bilal Akram 8
Vinay Bhudia b Majid Akram 3
Alex Irani Not Out  109 1
Nandesh Patel ct Unknown b Hewens 46
Stephen Kimsey Snr Not Out  13
Rohan Desai  
Jay Chavda  

South Hampstead Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Majid Akram12.0437218.503.08
Bilal Akram11.0134311.333.09
M. Haider4.002200.005.50
Touqeer Ahmad5.002300.004.60
Ed Hewens12.0352152.004.33
Fahad Mehboob11.007400.006.73

South Hampstead Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
190 (43.3 overs)
Majid Akram ct Bush b Chavda 24
Arjunan Ethirveerasingam ct Bush b Desai 0
Fahad Mehboob lbw Kimsey 8
Varun Agnish ct Parker b Ridley 20
James Fletcher ct Irani b Desai 69
Habib Akram lbw Desai 15
Ed Hewens b Desai 1
D. David b Desai 0
Touqeer Ahmad b Desai 10
M. Haider b Chavda 0
Bilal Akram Not Out  0

Bessborough Cricket Club 2nd Eleven Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Rohan Desai18.0578613.004.33
Jay Chavda15.3454227.003.48
Stephen Kimsey Snr2.00616.003.00
Nandesh Patel4.002100.005.25
Ian Ridley5.0120120.004.00